Ratatouïe baby & toddler food

Get 10% off and free delivery on your first order by using code FIRST at checkout. Valid until 30/04/2017!

Helene Piquion, founder, chef and mum has recently (February 2017) launched Ratatouïe, the baby and toddler food company.

Anyone who knows me will know that I do not like pre made food, not for myself or for my little boy. That said, of course I’ve fallen into the pouch trap, which let’s face it, is a dream when out and about, but I know they’re not good food. 

However, I came across Rataouïe via Instagram. A children’s magazine, whom I had briefly worked for during uni, reviewed the food, and I was intrigued by the cute packaging it comes in. I did my homework, checked out their website and decided I was keen to give them a try too! It looked good!

So with that, I contacted Helene and discovered more about her and her amazing bew business.

Helene spent 18 years working in investment banking. She returned to work after her maternity leave but found herself utterly miserable as she did not see her daughter enough. Being a single mum, she knew it was even more important for her to be there for her daughter. The day she told her colleague off for being “too happy and giggly” was the day she knew she had to leave.

The idea of Ratatouïe was born slowly but steadily.  Helene had spent countless hours at night, after returning from a long and hard day of work, peeling, steaming and pureering for her daughter Adele. She remembers thinking to herself, “seriously? Is there nothing out there to help me out, that would be fresh, wholesome and flavoursome just the way I make it?”. 

RATATOUïE was born and became a full time job, with the full time risk that goes with entrepreneurship. Helene always wanted her own business and after a lot of thought she decided that she should try and solve the problem she found when she was a working mum and the fact that she knows how to cook made it all that easier a decision.

First things first, she had to find recipes and inspiration so she looked no further than books and magazines. Adele had started to eat more adult food and so Helene wanted to find dishes that would suit everyone in the family (adults, children, toddlers and babies) of course without the addition of salt or any nasties. With this in mind, she designs her seasonal menu (and yes they change every season) based on the big baby’s meals (which is a grown up meal really, though everything is cut in tiny bits and there is no added salt at all) and then she mixes, blends and adjusts the flavours, crushes, purees or mashes each dish to adapt the textures from 6 months ownwards.

Helene uses the following suppliers: Langridge Organics for the veg, Moen&Sons for the meat, and Moxons for the fish

Rataouïe deliver in SW postcodes for  £4.99 (minimum order of 6 jars), £3.99 delivery if you order more than 12 jars and free delivery if you order more than 18 jars. (Clients can also pick up from the kitchen, where she’s cooks, on Tuesdays and Fridays  in SW11 3SS).

Ratatouïe are also delivering throughout the rest of London on bulk orders. Helene’s idea is to deliver to working mums in different areas so that they can sort out dinner for their little ones as easy as possible and have it delivered to their desks.

FOOD TEST:

BREAKFAST: Apple and pear compote


It smelt yummy, it tasted yummy and it made my little man smell delicious before I had to bathe him as he had enjoyed it so much that he was covered in it! Oh and it made him poo poo wonderfully ;)!

The apples and pears were cooked so the consistency was smooth and creamy and rich and sweet. But I liked that the skins had been left on and blended too.

LUNCH/DINNER: Chicken and garden vegetable stew (with some pancetta) and Curried root vegetable gratin.

I was worried my 15 month old would find the lumps annoying. I couldn’t have been more wrong. He was able to pick them up with his hands or fork and he loved that. The taste, and yes I absolutely tasted it, was yummy. A simple but tasty, balanced dish that I would make for myself. 

The curried gratin was delicate and milky and really tasty. I think pictures can often say 100 words so here you go: (all finished!)



Please give this mummy a go! She’s got the skills, she’s got the ingredients and she’s one hell of a cook! 

Visit her website here: www.ratatouie.co.uk and fill io your basket! You will NOT regret it! I love you Ratatouïe!

Leave a Reply

